Dissertation Awards at the 2015 EHA Meetings

Dissertation Awards at the 2015 EHA Meetings

The Nevins and Gerschenkron prize are awarded annually for the best dissertations on North-American and non-North American topics completed during the previous year. Six finalists, three for each award, will be chosen to present dissertation summaries at the Seventy Third Annual Meeting of the Economic History Association in Nashville, Tennessee September 2015. Finalists will receive $500 to defray travel expenses (Finalists travelling internationally will receive $800). Award recipients receive a cash prize of $1,200.

Scholars submitting a dissertation for the dissertation and prizes for the 2015 Economic History Association meeting may not submit a proposal for the general program that is part of or derived from the dissertation.

Eligibility: Those who received their Ph.D. between May 16, 2013 and May 15, 2015 are eligible and invited to submit their dissertation for consideration. All candidates for these prizes must be members of the Economic History Association. Dissertations submitted for consideration must be in English. Submission of a dissertation implies that candidates are prepared to attend the 2015 meetings in Nashville, Tennessee.  Presentation of a dissertation summary is required by all finalists.

Submissions: To be considered for these prizes, completed dissertations must be submitted by email on or before May 15, 2015. Submissions of more than 5MB should prepare to send a download link rather than an attachment. Notices announcing the selection of finalists will be sent to all candidates by July 24, 2015.


Allan Nevins Prize
The Allan Nevins Prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press for the best dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic
History published during the preceding year.

Please send submitted dissertations to:

Marianne Wanamaker
email: wanamaker  @  utk.edu

Alexander Gerschenkron Prize
The Alexander Gerschenkron Prize is awarded for the best dissertation in the economic history of an area outside of the United States or Canada published during the preceding year.

Please send submitted dissertations to:
Eric Chaney
email: echaney  @  fas.harvard.edu